Why’d Cabrera Win?

Before the snowflake grew into an unstoppable avalanche that savagely divided us between Team Trout (objective & WAR) and Team Cabrera (subjective & ‘I watch the games!’), I’ve remained consistent in my opinion that there was no wrong answer for the 2012 American League MVP. Unless your choice was anyone not named Trout or Cabrera. In that case, you’ve greatly erred.
 
You know I’m extremely open minded to new age statistics and often times I’ve staunchly advocated on their behalf for YOU to embrace them. But, I’ve also warned that you can make numbers work for you and YOU NEED TO INTERPRET THEM PROPERLY! Why you wouldn’t want to be more enlightened is completely incomprehensible to me. I get up in the morning hoping each night when I go to sleep that I’m a little bit smarter than when the sun rose.
 
A friend just texted me and asked me what my addiction was. I said knowledge and information. There are truly times I have to Zen-myself into the reality that I just can’t know everything that my mind craves. I’m just too darn curious. You’ll have to excuse me if my currency, and how I view my own personal status is with what’s in between my ears. You can have a big bank account. I want a bulging brain.
 
I’ve got no qualms with Cabrera winning the AL MVP. I don’t care about his historic Triple Crown (that’s a career resume builder ultimately), I don’t care about what some of you deem as his selfless attitude towards moving to third (um, you should do that anyway!) where he played quite admirably and far exceeded my expectations in the field.
 
I care a tiny bit that Tigers reached the playoffs. But even if the White Sox hadn’t coughed up the division in September for the Tigers to reach the postseason – in a FAR inferior division than where Trout performed (had to get some pro-Trout in there) – Miguel Cabrera would still be my personal choice for MVP.
 
You’re probably bracing yourself for some shadowy advanced stat that I uncovered to make my point on Cabrera. Which would obviously be out of character since I’ve done my best to educate you on the those very numbers that proves how GREAT Trout is.
 
You can unclench your fists angry Tiger Boy.
 
Why am I cool with Cabrera? He played better when the games mattered more. Trout hit a very respectable .286 from August on. Cabrera was unreal in the same time period, hitting .344. One win in April is the same in August or September, but the pressure can increase the difficulty of securing those wins. Good thing the Tigers were smitten with the girl that was .500 baseball for most of the year, or my lone pro-Cabrera argument would be weakened.
 
See, no fancy stat wizardry. Just one, time tested stat so many fans are enslaved by. Ooooooh batting average. Pretty.
 
I’ll go no further than that because I’ve said all I can say and made every argument I can make, and honestly, I don’t think I ever changed any minds. I really believe I don’t think I got a single person to believe that Trout was as nearly valuable to his team and league, as Cabrera was to his.
 
That’s not my fault. My persuasiveness was not lacking. The ignorance of some of your arguments AGAINST Trout based on the information we now have available was often times farcical. Those ‘geeky’ numbers work to quantify the unquantifiable. They support or undermine your sacred eye test. Listening to some of you, and reading some of your comments, could have you thinking it’s beyond insulting that Mike Trout should even be a Major Leaguer. Ugh! The nerve of that guy/kid to be so good!
 
But I get it. Civic pride always seems to override objectivity. It’s my mistake for not recognizing that when my frustration would set in during The Great Debate.
 
Anyway, Cabrera is the deserving American League MVP, and it’s a distinguished accomplishment on his career resume. He’s just not a better baseball player than Trout.
Leave a Reply

